Visualizing My Experience 📸

Ifrah Fahim Khan
5 min readJun 11, 2021

--

When I joined Amal about 3 months ago, I wasn’t sure what to expect from what I was about to become a part of. Where I stand now, it’s much easier to look back and connect the dots (applying Steve Job’s advice, one of the videos from a course by Amal). The most difficult part of any journey is its, beginning. There’s a lot of uncertainty and confusion in the start. The same way I was bewildered as to how will I be able to commit to something for 3 whole months, waking up early on weekends, submitting extensive PW’s, completing a mega project, etc. Now that I can look back, I can reflect properly.

Before I joined the fellowship at Amal Academy

I was a plant, I wanted to grow but I didn’t know how. So, this plant (as in me), stumbled upon Amal Academy. It looked like the perfect opportunity to help me grow. I applied, had no hopes that I’d be able to make it, but I did. Through the interview and through the test center. I was able to secure a spot in batch 179. I saw a lot of fellow plants, dreaming to grow but like me even they were not sure what to expect and how will all this be done. We were all shy plants, but we had one thing in common and that was the urge to grow. It was important for all of us to highlight our strengths to polish them and our weaknesses to work on them. When I was able to highlight both my strengths and my weaknesses, I knew where I had to work.

I wanted to work on my time management, leadership and communication skills. I started the fellowship when I was working on my FYP. So, when I had to work on PW’s and FYP, it taught me a lot about time management and setting my priorities. Communication was a prominent skill, that the fellowship helped all of us with. I was nominated the circle leader of our mega project group and it has been a rollercoaster journey ever since. It helped me develop the leadership skills I was looking for, to lead a team, incorporate different ideas, finding solutions, motivating all the team members.

The fellowship in short has taught me that any plant who dreams to grow can grow, if it WANTS to. My instructors who were blossomed plants made this journey worthwhile. Every plant needs support from other plants, like how my team members were for me throughout I wasn’t sure that I’ll even complete the fellowship, but tomorrow is our final mega project presentation, which I’m very confident about. My team and this project have been like a dream. I’m looking forward to keeping working for this venture we started, I want IAmHum to exist forever.

I am now a plant who has decided to not shy away anymore, I grew out of the vase I restricted myself in. I promised myself to keep working on myself, to keep growing and reaching out for the sunlight myself and to help and inspire all other growing plants through my journey.When I joined Amal about 3 months ago, I wasn’t sure what to expect from what I was about to become a part of. Where I stand now, it’s much easier to look back and connect the dots (applying Steve Job’s advice, one of the videos from a course by Amal). The most difficult part of any journey is its, beginning. There’s a lot of uncertainty and confusion in the start. The same way I was bewildered as to how will I be able to commit to something for 3 whole months, waking up early on weekends, submitting extensive PW’s, completing a mega project, etc. Now that I can look back, I can reflect properly.

I was a plant, I wanted to grow but I didn’t know how. So, this plant (as in me), stumbled upon Amal Academy. It looked like the perfect opportunity to help me grow. I applied, had no hopes that I’d be able to make it, but I did. Through the interview and through the test center. I was able to secure a spot in batch 179. I saw a lot of fellow plants, dreaming to grow but like me even they were not sure what to expect and how will all this be done. We were all shy plants, but we had one thing in common and that was the urge to grow. It was important for all of us to highlight our strengths to polish them and our weaknesses to work on them. When I was able to highlight both my strengths and my weaknesses, I knew where I had to work.

I wanted to work on my time management, leadership and communication skills. I started the fellowship when I was working on my FYP. So, when I had to work on PW’s and FYP, it taught me a lot about time management and setting my priorities. Communication was a prominent skill, that the fellowship helped all of us with. I was nominated the circle leader of our mega project group and it has been a rollercoaster journey ever since. It helped me develop the leadership skills I was looking for, to lead a team, incorporate different ideas, finding solutions, motivating all the team members.

The fellowship in short has taught me that any plant who dreams to grow can grow, if it WANTS to. My instructors who were blossomed plants made this journey worthwhile. Every plant needs support from other plants, like how my team members were for me throughout I wasn’t sure that I’ll even complete the fellowship, but tomorrow is our final mega project presentation, which I’m very confident about. My team and this project have been like a dream. I’m looking forward to keeping working for this venture we started, I want IAmHum to exist forever.

After 3 months of the fellowship.

I am now a plant who has decided to not shy away anymore, I grew out of the vase I restricted myself in. I promised myself to keep working on myself, to keep growing and reaching out for the sunlight myself and to help and inspire all other growing plants through my journey.

--

--